8 comments on “I Saw The Devil

  1. I was thinking of watching this. More intrigued now to see it. I read the Seven screenplay earlier this year without having seen the movie; then subsequently watched it. I thought the screenplay was better, and that the film didn’t do it justice somehow. I often think it’s a bad idea to do this, as the movie in your mind while reading is always better. I loved Seven’s noir feel however, but didn’t like Brad Pitt. Spacey was good though.

  2. I really liked Se7en, then again I think David Fincher is one of the best directors working in Hollywood . Fight Club is a book I love & Fincher’s adaptation was spot on. I thought Brad Pitt was good in Se7en considering he was alongside two fantastic actors in Spacey & Freeman. Print will allways be better than film. I think you allways bring something personal to a book.

  3. I agree about Fincher. His Zodiac movie was brilliant. That’s another that has that classic noir feel too. It’s so true about always bringing something personal to print. I did the same with James Ellroy’s Black Dahlia book: read and then watched DePalma’s film directly afterwards and was let down by the latter. This is one of the reasons I’ve neglected movies over the past ten years or so I’m sure. Will have to check out I Saw the Devil.

  4. Three movies that allways spring to mind when I think of a great book that was adapted poorly into a movie would be American Psycho by Brett Easton Elis (should never have been attempted) We Need To Talk About Kevin (they missed the boat completely & ruined an incredibly powerful book) & worst of all Dean Koontz’s Phantoms, wonderful book, utterly godawful movie! I haven’t seen Zodiac, it is on my list of to see movies.

  5. You know I’ve never read American Psycho. I was always put off by all the controversy/hype that surrounded it I think. Never read any Brett Easton Ellis for that matter. it’s written in a particular style that doesn’t lend itself well to film, is that right? Sort of like Naked Lunch (although not quite as extreme as that).

    Phantoms could have been a great horror movie. Someone like Carpenter should have gotten his hands on it. I make a point of reading that one every year or so, such a pleasure.

    It would be interesting to see what you make of Zodiac. I loved it but people I speak to about it always say it’s too slow. Again I think the book was a difficult one to adapt given that it was a true crime document rather than a dramatized story. Dirty Harry was a kind of lose attempt at the Zodiac story (hence the Scorpio killer lol).

  6. American Psycho is a wonderful dark satire. The book deosn’t really lend itself to film. Most of the violence is so extreme & graphic it could never really be filmed. The press concentrated on the violence but missed the whole point of the book. I would recommend it as it is a great book.
    Phantoms is a true page turner. I remember the first time I read it, I went cover to cover in one evening as it gripped me that much. Carpenter would have made a better job of the movie but I think it’s a story you bring to life yourself. As you read it & the story unfolds you are constantly thinking & second guessing what could be happening. That I think is the beauty of that book for the first time reader. Also your mind paints its own pictures of the story, as I read it I could vividly picture things like the alleyway by the bakers etc.
    I will get around to Zodiac. I don’t mind a slow movie. I intend to review The Last Circus this weekend & that moves at a sedate pace. I know true crime movies can be patchy at best but it can’t be worse than Summer Of Sam.

  7. I’ll give Amer Psyc a go at some point. Phantoms has such atmosphere, and Koontz prose at it’s best is wonderful, his sense of story up there with the best. All his early books highly readable, and ones I return to time and again. I think I devoured all those as a teenager, love them dearly.

    I expected so much from Summer of Sam, a real let down. Look forward to your new review as I intend to catch the Last Circus ASAP.

Leave a Reply

