2 comments on “Noroi (The Curse)

  1. Despite only having watched this once, it lingers in the mind like the residue of the worst nightmare you’ve ever had. The last few minutes are without doubt the most disturbing in film, so well realised and totally convincing. It’s a film that comes as close to achieving what the likes of writers like Ramsey Campbell do with prose: quiet, insinuating horror with no awkward ghost-train gimmicks. Whereas I love the no-holds-barred approach of other horror movies, ones such as Noroi that walk this other path truly are in a class of their own. Love it; and great review: a film that deserves to be seen by a lot more people.

  2. I really wish a distribution company in the UK would pick this movie up & give it a proper DVD release. I have the movie on my hardrive but it’s not the easiest movie to see & it really should be seen by as many people as possible. I have been in love with horror films since I was a child & i’m now in my 40s & have seen thousands, yet no other film has provoked the kind of intense unease I felt when I first saw the film. The movie just manages to convey a sense of dread & forboding as you watch it. In my humble opinion one of the greatest horror movies ever made.

Leave a Reply

